Author Posts

March 26, 2014 at 8:12 pm

It's been five years since we've been together. I always, always listen to him, even for hours, when he wants to complain about something. Whether it's trivial and eating at his mind, or super stressful and serious. I am not good at all when it comes to pressure or stress, but whenever I complain about something, he always replies with things I do not want to hear.

Recently, I'd gotten super sick. Been vomiting with a fever, couldn't eat or drink for a while. I also have a horrible job that I plan to quit this week. So I complain to him that I still have online homework and a midterm to complete, and that I'm upset because I have to spend my spring break recovering from my illness and worrying about how quitting my job will go (as well as working tomorrow while still ill), and I specifically say how my spring break was supposed to be a break from “everything”. Then he comes back at me with “Then just quit.”

Excuse me?

“Quit school. Quit your job.”

I was already in a horrible mood and I didn't want to deal with it. When I just want to vent, or when I need emotional support, he tries to topple me over. He says it's because I'm weak, and that he's trying to toughen me up, but if he's going to harass me when I need him, why do I have to be with him when I can be with someone who WANTS to support and love me? What kind of boyfriend does that to his girlfriend? He's jobless. He has a DUI for a year. I WANT to spend money on him and drive him wherever he needs to. Why can't he treat me like a human being? Like someone he at least LIKES?