Author Posts

October 8, 2016 at 3:35 am

Well, I have really gotten myself backed into a corner with no way out.

It started a couple years ago. The hospital I had been working for, for 6 1/2 years was busted by the Feds for Medicaid fraud. It was a good job and I had a boss that worked to get me raises every year and I was just into to the low end of what a computer tech earned in my area. After the hospital was shut down, I was kept on to decommission all the PC, laptops and servers per HIPAA rules. The job was due to end by November

The first week of October, I had a bad car accident. It was a one car and my own fault for being impatient. It laid me up for 3 months with cracked ribs and sternum. During that time, my checks from the hospital stopped. Fortunately, my car was in such a condition and low mileage, that, after the loan was paid off, I had enough money to live on for a few months.
April came and I thought I found a great job with a not-for-profit insurance professionals association. I should have gotten a hint at the beginning to its true nature. They asked what my desired salary range was, then they told me theirs, which the low end was $1k more than my low end. Great. I was then hired but my salary was at my low end, not theirs.

Everything was fine for a couple months, then my troubles started. I’m not in the greatest of shape, but I was always healthy, rarely sick. I hadn’t been in a hospital as a patient for 30 years. Over the next 9 months, I would have 2 cataract surgeries, an emergency hernia surgery, 2 bouts of gout that took me out for a week each time and I had a “cardio event” (doctor speak) that made me pass out at work.

In March, the day I returned from my second week long bout of gout, the boss called me to his desk and asked if a project I had been assigned 3 weeks earlier had been completed. I said no, I was waiting on one more thing that I should have by the end of the day. He said okay and let me go back to work.